University of Berlin

University of Berlin. Higher Education Institution established in Berlin, Germany. It was founded in 1810 under the name of Universidad Real Federico Guillermo.


Since 1949 it has been known officially as Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (Humboldt University of Berlin). It was instituted in 1810 under the name Königliche Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität (Frederick William Royal University) in honor of Frederick William III, King of Prussia, assuming the role that the University of Halle fulfilled, given that Napoleon Bonapartehe had incorporated this city into the new kingdom of Westphalia. From its inception, the University of Berlin made sure that its chairs were staffed by highly qualified staff. Associated scholars include the philosophers Johann Gottlieb Fichte (who was its first rector) and Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel, and the classicist and historian Theodor Mommsen. The University has faculties of Jurisprudence, Medicine, Philosophy and Theology.

After World War II

After World War II it came under the control of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics ( USSR ) and in 1949 it was renamed Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In reaction to this initiative, a group of students and professors formed the Freie Universität Berlin (Free University of Berlin), in West Berlin. Until the 1990 reunification of Germany, the University of Berlin was administered and financed by the government of the German Democratic Republic. For a short time after reunification, both universities were managed jointly, although today the German government manages them independently.

Free University of Berlin

The Free University of Berlin is the largest of the four universities in Berlin and one of the largest in Germany. Within the framework of the German government’s initiative for excellence, it was awarded “elite university” status in October 2007 for the quality of its future-oriented programs. This status is shared with 9 other universities in the country and in practical terms means additional budgets for research.

Humboldt University of Berlin

The Humboldt University of Berlin is the oldest in this German city. It has served as a model for other European and North American universities. It was founded in 1810 under the name of the University of Berlin (Universität zu Berlin) by the Prussian liberal Wilhelm von Humboldt. In 1828 this university was renamed the Friedrich-Wilhelm-University (Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität) and was later known as “Universität unter den Linden”. It was only in 1949 that its name was changed to “Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin” (Humboldt University of Berlin) in honor of its founder. Many of the great German intellectuals and scientists of the last two centuries have passed through this university.

Technical University of Berlin

The Technical University of Berlin (TUB, TU Berlin, German: Technische Universität Berlin) was founded in 1879. TU Berlin is one of the largest technical universities in Germany. It also has the highest proportion of foreign students, with 20% in the summer semester of 2005, which represents about 6,000 students. The list of alumni and faculty includes eight Nobel Prize winners.

TU Berlin is part of the TIME Top Industrial Managers for Europe network and a member of CESAER (group of European engineering schools).

Careers that are studied

The University of Berlin offers the possibility of studying degrees in Agriculture and Horticulture, Economics, Law, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Medicine, Pedagogy, Philosophy and Theology.


The Diploma is awarded after completing a career of four or five years, on average. After another three years and the writing of a dissertation (thesis) the title of doctor is achieved, which can be extended with other years of study and the completion of a second dissertation to the Habilitation, or second doctorate, which empowers the student for the University teaching.


  • John F. Kennedy Institute for American Studies.
  • Institute for Latin American Studies.
  • Institute for Eastern European Studies.

Service Institutions

  • Botanical Garden and Botanical Museum of Berlin
  • Center for Academic Help, Career and Counseling Services
  • Postgraduate Center
  • Center for the advancement of women and gender studies
  • leisure sports center
  • Computer Center
  • Language Center
  • University Library

University of Berlin