Gothenburg University (Sweden)

University of Gothenburg : The University of Gothenburg is a Swedish university center, located in the homonymous city. It is the third oldest university in Sweden ( 1891 ) although at the time of its foundation it bore the name of School. It is the Swedish university with the widest spectrum of study possibilities.


It was founded in 1891 under the name of the Gothenburg School. It was recognized as a university by the Swedish government in 1954, when the Gothenburg School was joined by the city’s Medical School, thus making it the third oldest university in Sweden.

In 1971, the Gothenburg Faculties of Economics and Business Law became part of the University, as well as Sahlgrenska Hospital which was associated with the university as a teaching hospital.

In the decade of 1990 the School of Economics and the Academy of Music, Theater and Opera is moved to new buildings in the city center and a new campus of the College of Education opened in central Gothenburg in 2006.

Most of its facilities are located in the city center of Gothenburg.

In 1907 he was awarded the same status as the University of Upsala and Lund University.


The University of Gothenburg is the third oldest in Sweden and one of the largest in the Nordic countries.

It has eight faculties and 57 departments, in which they offer training in the creative arts, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Humanities, Education, Information Technology, Business, Economics and Law, and Health Sciences.

It is among the 500 best universities in the world.

Academic faculties

  • Artistic studies
  • Design and Crafts
  • Film school
  • Literary composition
  • Photography
  • Scenography and Music
  • Gothenburg Organ Art Center
  • Valand School of Fine Arts
  • Education (pedagogical sciences)
  • Humanities
  • Cultural studies
  • History
  • Literature, History of ideas, Religion
  • Modern languages
  • Philosophy, Linguistics, Theory of science
  • Swedish
  • Information technology
  • Applied technology
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Exact and Natural Sciences
  • Botany
  • Cellular and molecular biology
  • Physics
  • Earth sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Marine ecology
  • Math
  • Environmental sciences
  • Zoology
  • Sahlgrenska Academy (Faculty of Medicine)
  • School of Business, Economics and Law
  • Economy
  • Administration companies
  • Right
  • Cultural geography
  • National economy and statistics
  • Ciencias Sociales ( Faculty of Social Sciences )
  • Peace and development studies
  • Public administration
  • Journalism and social communication
  • Psychology
  • Social anthropology
  • Social care
  • Sociology
  • Political Sciences
  • European Studies

Featured students

  • Nick Bostrom : Swedish philosopher.
  • Magnus Carlsson : Swedish pop soloist.
  • Jan Eliasson: diplomat
  • Cecilia Malmstrom : European politics
  • Njuguna Ndung’u: Kenyan economist.
  • Maria Wetterstrand: Swedish politics
  • Angelo Fl√≥rez de Andrade: Colombian academic
  • Bo Rothstein: political scientist
  • Rodrigo Tavares: Portuguese businessman

Gothenburg University (Sweden)